Day 17: Hitch hiking adventure

Given the state of buses and so forth, the only way to do the 250 mile / 400km round trip was to hitch hike. So by 7.30am I was standing outside the BP garage with my thumb out. Vehicles were sparse but it didn’t take long until a nice new Chevy truck pulled up. The fellow looked friendly and said he was going to Kalgoorlie. Score! He owned a real estate on the coast and used to be a cop so we had a good conversation. Before I knew it I was in town in the bike shop and good all I needed and more. After a quick coffee and cake at the Dome cafe (again) to make it worthwhile the bike shop lady gave me a ride to the outskirts of town. It was cold and raining, but luckily I only waited a few minutes. This time the ride was TOTALLY different, in a beat up old car driven by an old guy who didn’t like women much. We even stopped at a railway line to pick up iron ore so he could show me what it looked like. Interesting characters here. 

And so this is it, the difficult part of the trip across the nullabor begins in the morning. It will be tough but I think I am ready. I will message when I can!!

James



Hello from Norseman



2 comments

  1. Kevin Ruane · March 28, 2015

    Well, at least the Nullarbor will be flat…

    Just read about Garside’s crossing as well as Koeppel’s run. Wow. Best wishes for continued Australian hospitality and plenty of passing traffic. Be safe!

    Like

    • jamesrbrooman · April 8, 2015

      Thanks Kevin! I tell you, it’s not quite as flat as they make it out to be! But at least it isn’t the Himalayas!

      Like

Leave a comment