Days 63, 64: 44C to 4C. I love Australia.

Long is the road to success, as they say, and this road feels REALLY long. Finally made it to the town of Mildura and frankly it is wonderful to be back in civilization. I do enjoy being out in the open and camping and all that, but I think my subconscious has had enough and I need to cajole it along. It was 4C this morning and windy, which is zero fun in shorts. Maybe that’s why. Perhaps this is the hard work in the background while no-one is looking which is the mark of a champion. Except of course you are looking – which certainly does help my motivation!

The highlight yesterday was the all-you-can-eat breakfast at the general store in a tiny place called Cullulleraine. It was only AUD 12.50 and was GOOD, AND it included unlimited latte (I drank 2 pints). Although to prove there can be too much of a good thing, as I had this for lunch I spent most of the afternoon trying (successfully) to stop myself from throwing up as I ran. Not so fun.
Passed the Sydney 1,000km sign so getting there. Having my first pint of Victoria Bitter in Victoria now and entering New South Wales tomorrow. On the home leg now. 
5 comments

  1. Paul C · May 13, 2015

    Victoria Bitter! That brings back memories. Although the memories it brings back didn’t involve running, or even particularly fast walking, but plenty of throwing up. Home straight James, you are a ledge.

    Like

    • jamesrbrooman · May 13, 2015

      Haha I’m happy they DIDNT involve running, that would be weird. 🙂
      Thanks for the message!

      Like

  2. Michael · May 13, 2015

    James, you’re the man! I’ll go to the store later today and see if i can find a Victoria bitter so i can better understand your heroic effort 🙂
    And no worries: we ARE watching! Good Luck on the home stretch.

    Like

  3. James · May 15, 2015

    Enjoy the VBs James and keep it up. i’m really enjoying reading the blog sat at my desk day after day after day knowing that someone out there is doing enough exercise for me as well!

    Like

    • jamesrbrooman · May 16, 2015

      Thanks James. Consider me your surrogate exerciser for the next month!

      Like

Leave a Reply

